Beyond The Fourth 2010 Awards- Best Film

It’s December. There’s thick piles of snow blanketing the country. Paul McCartney and Bing Crosby are blasting out of shop stereos everywhere. Mince pies and mulled wine are back in season.  Tim Allen is making a surprising amount of appearances on the television. So it must be that time of year again.

What, Christmas? Well yeah, but I was talking more about the Awards season. And not the big ones. This is the time of year, more than any other, where amateur bloggers and Facebook know-it-alls think, “people really care what I think.”

Well, I am a bigger know-it-all than most, and I have a blog. So here is my two pennies worth on the best of 2010. Bear in mind, I can only make a list based on what I’ve seen, so feel free to tell me I’m wrong for missing things out. But I’m not.

So, without further ado, here are my nominations for Best Film 2010.

Inception, Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, Toy Story 3, Due Date

WINNER: Inception


Part marketed as the greatest mindfuck since The Matrix, I’d be suprised if this didn’t win Christopher Nolan the Best Director Oscar that has been sorely lacking from his mantelpiece. The visual aspects of the dreamworld that he creates are spectacular, and the concept itself is great fun to get lost in. I was expecting to struggle in any efforts to keep up with the plot, but it was fairly simple to keep up to speed with what was going on in each level of each delicately crafted dream state.

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World


As a commercial entity, it flopped at the cinema. As a piece of pop culture artwork, it was one of the most thoroughly enjoyable movies I’ve seen all year. When you take your seat at the cinema, and the first thing you see of the movie is an 8-bit recreation of the Universal logo, you realise you are in for something good. For all I am told about comic book movies such as Sin City and 300, this is just as much of an artistic representation. Every image is bright and colourful, cartoony and in your face. As a project from Edgar Wright (director of Spaced and Shaun of the Dead) the pop culture references come thick and fast. Michael Cera makes another appearance as ‘socially insecure geek’ that he has mastered so successfully, and former superheroes Chris Evans and Brandon Routh make the best appearances of the evil exes. I’m not expecting this to come top of the list, but watch it anyway.

Toy Story 3


This film could not be omitted. As part of the generation that rightfully owns this trilogy (back off all those under 16, you got The Chronicles of Narnia- deal with it) it was a must see for me. The only thoughts I had going into the cinema were, ‘please don’t ruin the series’, and I am pleased to say it didn’t. As a film, I have to say I didn’t feel it matched up to the other two. It wasn’t as funny, and the overall plot seemed a bit slapdash. However, this film was all about wrapping my childhood up, and sentimentailty levels went through the roof. It brought back the mindset many of us new twenty-somethings had forgotten about childhood, the feeling of picking up a toy and creating a whole new world and adventures around it. Toy Story was the exact reason many of us could never give our favourite toys away when we grew up, and watching Andy have to do it had a big impact upon all who watched it in the cinema. It was closure, and though I didn’t cry, it took a hell of an effort.

Due Date


I really wanted to put Dinner For Schmucks up as my comedy nomination. I feel wronged that it has such a low rating on Rotten Tomatoes compared to The Other Guys (see below for details). It was surprisingly funny, with a stellar casting, and wonderfully sad and sentimental in all the right places. However, Due Date just pipped it in terms of belly laughs.

Todd Phillips brings a lot of the script success of The Hangover with him, and more importantly, Zach Galifinakis. Galifinakis, like Cera, has found himself in a recurring role, that of ‘weird guy’. He was the undoubted star of The Hangover, and paired this time with Robert Downey Jr, he has taken the role to new levels. The pairing is inspired, the script is full of quirks for Galifinakis and irritated quips for Downey. Some scenes are slightly unsavoury, but as a whole I feel it is a massive step up from The Hangover. And that much at least makes it worthy of an appearance on the shortlist.

So, thats it. I’m sure you are wondering where the likes of Kick Ass, The Social Network, Despicable Me and Shutter Island are. Truth is, I haven’t been quite arsed enough to see them, but I’ll get around to them at some point. Give me your votes on this list and I’ll have results for you after the New Year. And there are still a few categories to go. So stay tuned. Or not. But you won’t get many better opportunities to tell me how wrong I am.

About jpgoss

I like TV. I like telling people whats good for them. Therefore I set up this blog. If I can be bothered to update it, you'll know what'll be good to catch on the box.

Posted on December 23, 2010, in Film and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Not sure about Cera having mastered the stereotype since it’s naturally what ‘him’ anyway. Good choices, except I haven’t seen Due Date or Scott Pilgrim!

Let me know just how wrong I am

